Is It Necessary to Read the FNAF Graphic Novels in Order?

The popularity of the Five Nights at Freddy’s (FNaF) video game series has led to the creation of various spin-offs, including graphic novels. Some fans might wonder, “Do you have to read the FNAF graphic novels in order?“. The short answer is, it is preferable to do so for a better understanding and smoother flow of the storyline.

The FNaF Books and Novels

The primary series is a trilogy that was co-written by the FNaF creator, Scott Cawthorn, alongside author Kira Breed-Wrisely. Its chilling narrative, centered around the grisly world of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza, becomes even more gripping when the books are read in sequence:

  • Book 1: The Silver Eyes (2015)
  • Book 2: The Twisted Ones (2017)
  • Book 3: The Fourth Closet (2018)

Following the trilogy, there is also the Fazbear Frights novella series, and readers are once again advised to follow the given order:

  • Novella 1: Into the Pit (2019)
  • Novella 2: Fetch (2020)
comic book panels

FNaF Graphic Novels

The graphic novel adaptations parallel the series, starting with The Silver Eyes in 2020. Sequential reading is advised not merely for continuity but also to appreciate the evolving artwork. The order of the graphic novel series is as follows:

  • Book 1: The Silver Eyes (2020)
  • Book 2: The Twisted Ones (2021)
  • Book 3: The Fourth Closet (2022)

Benefits of Reading in Order

Reading the FNaF graphic novels in order allows you to witness how the story unfolds progressively. It offers you a deeper understanding of the characters’ evolution throughout the series, intensifying your connection with their journey.

reading comic book


While reading the FNaF graphic novels in order is not obligatory, it significantly enhances the reader’s experience, providing better context and comprehension of the overarching narrative. Furthermore, witnessing the development inherent in the series, not only in the plot but also within gameplay and graphic design, is a thrilling part of the overall FNaF experience.

Related articles

Leave a Comment